UX Review of opendata.swiss

Dear all,

Since I find open data something valuable, and since I’m a User Experience Architect, I thought it might be useful to do a UX review of opendata.swiss: Was ein UX Review kann, am Beispiel von opdendata.swiss. The aim is both to show what the method can do, but also - hopefully - to contribute something useful.

The most important results are:

1. There seem to be quite a few data sets available, but there’s room for improvement when it comes to the choice of data sets, content, and information architecture.
  2. The same goes for search and navigation mechanisms: Most of the essentials are there, but findability could be better.
  3. User Research would help to improve things further.

Based on this, I also suggest a few concrete steps that could be taken from a UX perspective. If you are curious about the details, you’re very welcome to read the review. Meanwhile, I appreciate any feedback: If you have any questions about the method or the results, or if you’d like to suggest additional use cases, or if you disagree with any of this, I’d love to hear from you.
Thanks! Best,

Timo

I just want to underline a couple of things here:

Timo, you are doing our community a big favor by taking a critical look at one of the central services we use and contribute to, from an objective and intelligent standpoint as a data user. We too quickly get used to the quirks and habits of a tool or platform, and as advanced users have a very hard time seeing another perspective. Your report shares some terrific insights in a very accessible form.

(An instructive screenshot from Timos report)